Whatever you say,

does it really matter?

#SanFrancisco #Tourism

2 Comments

Millions of people flock to San Francisco to see the famous Golden Gate Bridge or the Painted Ladies as seen in Full House.  These beautiful sites are right outside my door.  So I was excited to be a tourist in my beautiful city in which I was born and raised in.

I recently had a six day staycation and became a tourist.  The question is, what to do or not to do?  For example, if you have an out-of-town guest visiting for the first time EVER and for a short amount of time, what attractions do you see or what things do you do in order to capture how amazing San Francisco is without being overwhelmed?  I limited this staycation to a few major activities/attractions that I felt captured my city.  I have to admit, I’ve lived here my entire life and I am embarrassed to say there are some things I haven’t done or seen, like ride a cable car.  Oh! Did I just admit that out loud?  I’ve been on one just not one in motion. But don’t fear, I will do it and post lots of pictures of it when I do.  Yes, I am one of those people.

I wanted to start the staycation off with a view of San Francisco.  Twin Peaks is right up the street from my house, so this was our first stop.

twin-peaks-market-street-v2Photo from SFTravel

So here is how we spent our six day staycation.

Night 1: California Academy of Sciences

This is by far one of my favorite places in San Francisco set in the beauty of Golden Gate Park.  It has an aquarium, a planetarium, a natural history museum and more.  While this is a great place for children to explore and enjoy, the Academy has “Nightlife at the Academy,” every Thursday night for adults only.  The pros are:  it is cheaper, alcohol is served, no children, and less crowded.  I have been here several times during the day with my nieces and nephews but never at night for Nightlife.  It was a great experience and I highly recommend it!

Day 1: Pier 39/Fisherman’s Wharf

We walked around the Pier, saw the sea lions, observed Alcatraz from land and had lunch at Boudin’s. You cannot go to the Wharf and not have clam chowder in a bread bowl. Yummy!  After lunch, we went to the Wax Museum (only because I found a living social deal) and Ripley’s Believe it or Not Museum (which a friend highly recommended).  My recommendation, skip the wax museum and definitely go to Ripley’s. Most wax figures did NOT look like the people.  I left most of the figures saying, “Who was that?”  If it wasn’t for the name displays, I would have left there very confused. Ripley’s had some really cool things.  This being one of them:

IMG_2548

Day 2: Golden Gate Park

You can spend the entire day in Golden Gate Park, which is larger than New York’s Central Park.  There is so much to do and see there.  Some of the attractions being the California Academy of Sciences, De Young Museum, Conservatory of Flowers, Japanese Tea Garden, many other gardens, the bisons, Legion of Honor, a carousel and park. We decided to kept it low-key and had a picnic at Stow Lake.  After lunch, we walked around the lake and did a little hike.

IMG_2557Day 3 and 4: Monterey Overnight

One thing I love most about San Francisco is being so close to take weekend getaways.  Want to go skiing? Lake Tahoe is only four hours away.  Want to have a romantic weekend?  Monterey is only two hours.  We headed to Monterey for an overnight stay taking the drive down Highway 1 with amazing coastal views.  Of course, if this is your first time visiting Monterey, you want to check out the Monterey Bay Aquarium.  We passed on it and felt, you’ve seen one aquarium, you’ve seen them all.  Plus, we just saw the aquarium at the California Academy of Sciences and the Monterey Bay Aquarium can be quite expensive depending on how many guests you are entertaining.  If there was more time, we would have stayed a few days in Carmel and Big Sur.

IMG_2565

Day 5:

We spent the day driving to famous attractions which included the Golden Gate Bridge, the Painted Ladies, the crooked street on Lombard Street, Coit Tower, and the Palace of Fine Arts.

IMG_2586The Golden Gate Bridge

IMG_2598The Painted Ladies

IMG_2568The Crooked Street (this picture sucks)

IMG_2587Coit Tower

IMG_2597The Palace of Fine Arts

IMG_2603

Day 6: Ocean Beach

We lucked out with warm weather during this staycation and decided to end it with a day at the beach.  While there are many gorgeous beaches to visit in the Bay Area, we stayed near home and went to Ocean Beach (which is ten minutes from my house).  After the beach, we went to Mitchell’s Ice Cream, which is a must for any ice cream lovers! Just check out the Yelp reviews yourself.

IMG_2602What would you do and see if you visited San Francisco?

Author: Michelle

Just a woman finally finding herself!

2 thoughts on “#SanFrancisco #Tourism

  1. Hi Michelle – What a wonderful staycation in San Francisco! You definitely picked some of the truly great spots that a local would know. :-) Thanks for sharing your beautiful Instagrams of the City. Which experience was truly your favorite?

    • If I had to pick just one, it would have been going to the Palace of Fine Arts. It was such a gorgeous day out. The best part was kicking off our shoes and relaxing on the grass on a blanket and just taking in the beautiful sight! :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 481 other followers