Whatever you say,

does it really matter?

Smell a memory

Leave a comment

I stepped out of the shower this evening, picked up my towel to dry my face off and took in a deep breath. And what I smelled was a smell that brought back a memory. A very pleasant memory. A time when things were great.

It was the summer of 2004. My first time visiting Lake Berryessa. Excited to go because I was looking forward to getting away with E and his grandparents relaxing in 90 degree weather. When I first walked into the cabin, there was a distinctive smell to it. It was the smell of an old cabin that many family and friends had come to call home during the summer months. Furnished with old couches, chairs and a wood burning fireplace. It was cozy and comfortable. It was home. I got a glimpse of what it was like…not for an entire summer but for a weekend. Playing marbles, Gin, fishing, BBQ, taking walks, waking to the sun, relaxing on the deck reading a book.

It’s a memory I could never forget. To be there where E and his family spent their summers made me feel like I was really part of the family. A real part of E. A connection to E’s past brought to present time and it included me.

All these feelings rushed back to me with the smell of a towels.

Me and Mimi


Pa and me


Me and E


E and Mimi

Author: Michelle

Just a woman finally finding herself!

Leave a Reply

