Whatever you say,

does it really matter?

Making a difference

Leave a comment

Today, I spent the afternoon and evening with Mimi, E’s grandmother.  And I have to say, I think I actually got her mind off of tomorrow.  Tomorrow is a memorial for Pa and I didn’t want her to be alone today.  I knew E would be working late and most likely wouldn’t make it home to Mimi before bedtime per our conversation the previous night.  So I chose to spend the day with her.  You didn’t need to ask me.  I wanted to!  I wouldn’t have wanted to be anywhere else.  I took her to get her hair done, which was quite an adventure in itself trying to navigate Daly City and Skyline fog, not to mention HWY 1 fog!  I had dinner with her, baked cookies and watched television with her.  She laughed a lot and smiled, cracked jokes, and we talked about nonsense.  Today was the first time in a long time that I actually saw her eat more than two bites.  She actually had two slices!  So I must have done something right to bring back her appetite.  Right?

But what I am NOT looking forward to is tomorrow and having to face the tears, the sadness, the people in mourning.

However, what I AM looking forward to is helping Mimi bake her infamous Pecan Pie for Thanksgiving dessert next week!

And to top off the day was what Mimi said to me right before I left. 

Mimi: “What would I do without you? You are too good to me.” 
Me: “Well, you don’t have to worry about that because I am right here and I am not going anywhere!”

Oh how I love Mimi!

Author: Michelle

Just a woman finally finding herself!

Leave a Reply

