Whatever you say,

does it really matter?

I can laugh about it now but not back in 1st grade

Leave a comment

I don’t know why I feel the need to share this story.  But it crossed my mind and I thought I would share it with you.  Plus I hardly remember anything before the age of 10.  So it’s a miracle I remember this story.

I am in the first grade.  Ms. Donovan passed out an assignment to us.  I’m sure it was some coloring exercise which I happened to be excellent at  and perfected staying in the lines.  Unlike my classmates.  I was a star at coloring.  Always got the smiley faces at the top of my paper.  Never got anything less.  Back to the story, she passed out the assignment and began to read the directions.  Directions on how to color?  Anyway, she was reading the directions and I raised my hand to interrupt her.

Me:  “May I please go to the bathroom?”
Teacher:  “Can you please wait until I am done with reading the directions?”
Me:  “Not really.  May I please go?”
Teacher:  “No.  Wait until I am done!”

That is when I started to do the pee pee dance sitting down.  I was moving my knees side to side trying not to think of it.  I stopped listening to the damn directions.  I couldn’t think of anything else except how bad I had to pee.  OH YES!  I couldn’t hold it in anymore.  Instead of just getting up and leaving the room, which was a no-no at a catholic school unless you had permission, I peed in my chair. As if that wasn’t the worst part.  The boy, who lived around the block from me, who happened to be sitting next me, raised his hand and said, “Excuse me, Ms. Donovan.  There’s a puddle on the floor.”  Then the girl on the other side of me said “EWWWWW.”  Everyone in the class, turned and looked at me, then the puddle.  I have never been more embarrassed in my life.

The teacher looked at me and gave me the look of shame.  She called the classroom upstairs to have my older sister take me home to change into a new uniform.  I wanted to go home and crawl under my covers and never come out.  But I had to change, go back to school, since it was only four blocks away and face the humility, stares and of course jokes from my classmates for the remainder of the week.  Or was it months? Or was it the next 7 years since they all remained my classmates for that long?

Regardless, even when I run into them nowadays, which is rare, we reminisce about it and laugh.  But let me tell, I wasn’t laughing then!

Author: Michelle

Just a woman finally finding herself!

Leave a Reply

