Whatever you say,

does it really matter?

It’s not the lottery but it’s something

Leave a comment

Well people!  I am living proof that having money does not make you happy.  No, I didn’t win the lottery and yes being a nurse provides me with a comfortable income.  But I did get a nice chunk of change in the mail yesterday.  Five figures worth!!!!  So you would think I would be jumping for joy.  Going on a shopping spree since it is the holiday season.  Buying the most spectacular Christmas present for that special someone.  Taking a trip.  Yadda yadda yadda. 

Now don’t get me wrong.  I am glad the check arrived yesterday, which actually was suppose to arrive last month.  Which is actually four years way overdue.  But when I opened the envelope to assess the check to make sure it was for the correct amount, I said to myself, “Self, yes, it’s right.  That’s nice.”  I put it back in the envelope and placed it on my dresser where it still sits.  Most people would be running to the bank.  I will run to the bank sometime next week when I get around to it.

In case you were all wondering what I will be doing with this money, here is my list:

1.  Pay off one of my school loans.  I could pay off all three but I would like to keep the other two low interest rates one open for credit purposes.  Not that my credit is bad because it’s actually pretty darn good but to establish a good credit history.
2.  Pay off my one and only credit card.

This is my only debt.  Pretty damn good if you ask me.  Funny thing is, it doesn’t put much of a dent into the money I received.  So of course I am going to buy something for myself.  I do deserve it after all.

List of things to buy:

1.  A new Mac desktop computer since this labtop is about to go ca-pooey and maybe a mac labtop as well.
2.  A 37″ flat screen TV.  Still researching brands?

That’s all.  Nothing else.  I am not going to buy a new car which I have been told to do on several occasions.  That wouldn’t be the smartest purchase.  That will come in due time as well as traveling.  But with the remaining money, I will be saving and/or investing it. According to my fortune cookie tonight: the stock market is where I will have success in making money.

Money does make life a little easier but not necessarily happier.

Author: Michelle

Just a woman finally finding herself!

Leave a Reply

