Whatever you say,

does it really matter?

The last dance

2 Comments

equivocationist wrote a beautiful piece titled "I saved you the last dance, but you didn’t want it."  Couldn’t have said it better.  It is what I feel right now.  It is how I feel every time after a relationship ends.  And here it is….

Nothing has been the same since you left
My heart is shattered on the floor.
So I’ll grab the keys and my purse
And head on out the door.

Go to where the lights are bright
And there’s a sweet alcohol perfume
I’ll fling myself all around this place
But the last dance is for you.

There’s a hand on my waist
Another on my thigh
Grabbing at my body
They want to take me high

But they’re just distractions
Nothing true in their words
They don’t know how you loved me
They don’t know how it hurts.

So I’ll fling myself around this place
Get lost inside the beat
Drown my sorrows in a whiskey glass
Sweat out my worries in dance club heat.

And it might help for a while
It might help me make it through
But when I lay in my own bed
Just know; my last thoughts are for you.



Author: Michelle

Just a woman finally finding herself!

2 thoughts on “The last dance

  1. Aw! =)
    I’m flattered, thank you so much

Leave a Reply

