Whatever you say,

does it really matter?

Fuck Cancer!

2 Comments

My older sister just got diagnosed with breast cancer!  This is the SECOND time she has had cancer!  First thyroid, now breast!  Why her?  AGAIN!  Is it the stress in her life?  Weight?  Heredity?  Well we know it is…which is why I scheduled myself for a mammogram when I return from camp.  I couldn’t even imagine what she must be experiencing nor do I ever.  The part that kills me the most is not being there for her. 

I took a summer job as a camp nurse AND signed a contract which I cannot get out of.  There is no time for them to find a replacement nurse.  It is too short of notice.  Being a nurse, I should be there for my sister.  It’s the role I play in my family….when someone is ill.  I AM THERE not only as a sister, aunt or daughter but as a healthcare professional.  I am having a hard time accepting the fact I cannot drop this job and help my sister through this time.

She is not alone however.  She does have family support  but the support that I can give her is so much different than anyone else.  We have this special connection that none of my other sister’s and I have.  And that is why I am angry I agreed to this job!

Cancer sucks!
FUCK cancer!

Author: Michelle

Just a woman finally finding herself!

2 thoughts on “Fuck Cancer!

  1. Hang in there honey. Send her all the good energy you can, be there for her in any way that you can for now and just don’t let this get in the way. She knows you love her and would be there if you could and that is very important. Life happens and there is nothing we can do when it does except make the best of it. [Least that’s the best I can do with it. šŸ™‚ ] Hang tough and I will keep her in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

