Whatever you say,

does it really matter?

Reverb11 Day 5: Brought to you by the Number 5

2 Comments


We all have them. Some have one. Some have more. I have many. They are called guilty pleasures. What exactly is a guilty pleasure? Yes, it’s an oxymoron. How can something that gives you such pleasure cause you to feel so guilty? Is it because it feels good at the time? Hence, causing pleasure. But you know it’s wrong? Hence, the feeling of guilt. It is something you enjoy but you know it’s not good for you.

So why do it? Because of the immense joy you feel while doing it. For example, instead of eating a small bowl of ice cream, you sit in front of the television and eat the entire pint. You have these amusements, or what I like to call diversions, for the immediate sheer gratification it creates. Because they are easy, enjoyable and attainable. But it’s pleasurable effects are short-lived, brief moments of time that vanish. And then after the satisfaction has dissipated, what do you have left? The feeling of guilt, which may or may not last a lifetime. I guess it all depends on what your guilty pleasures are.

Here is a list of my guilty pleasures in no particular order.

1. Vodka
2. Cheesecake
3. Cheese
4. Chocolate
5. Coffee ice cream

I say, if these cause me pleasure, to hell with the after shocks!

Author: Michelle

Just a woman finally finding herself!

2 thoughts on “Reverb11 Day 5: Brought to you by the Number 5

  1. My big one is Coca Cola. I can eat healthy and exercise, but I will still suck down that corn-syrup laden beverage.

    Excessive laziness. If I have one “legitimate” (putting it in quotes on purpose) to skip the gym, I will.

    • Oh Jen! What am I going to do with you? I never saw you once at LMU without a soda! It’s ok. You will just be a brittle old woman! At least you know a nurse that will take care of you!

Leave a Reply

