Whatever you say,

does it really matter?

Reverb11 Day1-4: Word, Meet, Moment and Math

1 Comment

I found out about #Reverb11 through Kaileen‘s blog. I then found Geekin Hard. I can’t decide whose to choose.  Some prompts I have experienced and others I haven’t.  So I am using a combo of both to get my through my first reverb. I hope I don’t fail. I think it is a great time to reflect on the past year. As I was reading the prompts, my mind went blank. Is this a challenge I can take on and truly dive into and embrace? It’s kind of nerve wrecking to think about the past year. So here it goes:

Prompt 1: One Word – Encapsulate the year 2011 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2012 for you?

Challenging: 2011 has been quite a challenge for me all around.  Every aspect of my life has been challenging: work, family, friends, relationships, home, health, happiness.  It seems like everything has taken a hit one way or another.  My work environment has been toxic for some time now by no faults of my own but by colleagues and changes.  My relationship with my sister has been wounded for reasons I don’t understand. My family has faced monetary and health challenges. My home doesn’t feel like a home to me.  It feels empty and cold.  My health and those close to me have not been up to par.  And frankly, I am just not happy these last few months…with anything.  I am definitely ready for a new year, a new beginning, a fresh start.

I want many words for 2012 and I don’t want to decide on just one. So for 2012, I want my word to be eventful, peaceful, adventurous.

Prompt 2: Who did you meet?

I am not young.  I am in my mid thirties and find making friends when you are older is challenging (Gee..there goes my word to describe 2011).  As an adult, it seems like your circle of friends is set.  I have five girlfriends, all whom are very different, all whom I confide in and all whom I love dearly.  Unfortunately, for all of us to be together in one room having a girls night is impossible.  Their different personalities will clash.  Some don’t like the others and it’s something I am not going to push on them.  I try to spend my individual time with each of them, which has been challenging too!

I have realized you are never too old to find new friends. Although we haven’t met, I found a friend in Taylor and cannot wait to meet her in person. It’s not until recently, I have met people I feel can become good friends, like the tenant in my in law apartment and a spunky girl named Jen, who my heart goes out to.  Meeting new people the past couple of months has been rewarding and exciting!  I think I will put myself in more situations where I can meet new people.  I need to do something different!

Prompt 3: A Moment in Time – Tell us about one moment that you lived in 2011 that you will never forget.

Disneyland!  Weekend getaways with friends and my boyfriend were the moments I will always remember.  Disneyland was by far the best time I have had in a long time.  I went twice this year.  It brings the best out of everyone!  It brings love in the air.  It brings the kid out of you.  It’s magical. It truly is the happiest place on earth!

Prompt 4: Addition through subtraction – What have you let go of this year and how has it affected you?

This one has been difficult.  I haven’t blogged about this and don’t know if I feel like blogging about it or if I am even ready to.  It still hurts.  It still makes me cry.  It still makes me angry.  It has devastated me and has broken me down completely.  And building myself up and gluing back the pieces has been challenging (there’s that word again).  This year, I let go of the man I wanted to marry.

Author: Michelle

Just a woman finally finding herself!

One thought on “Reverb11 Day1-4: Word, Meet, Moment and Math

  1. Love you Michelle!

Leave a Reply

